New Equation for Happiness – Who would have “thunk” it!?!!

Truly it seems like such a “master of the obvious” statement to say, “Living in alignment with our Life Purpose, Values, Gifts and Talents equals happiness and vice versa” and yet, so few of us, myself included until a few days ago, consciously choose to a) discover and define our purpose, values, gifts and talents through something like a workshop or foundation session and b) strategically go after a meaningful, fulfilling life with this as a focus!

This is where the juice is… and by “juice” I mean energy and magic and all that it entails!

I first had it demonstrated to me when I was sharing a recording of one of my coaching sessions with my mentor coach for evaluation.  As he was reflecting his thoughts and asking me questions about the session, I found myself excitedly gushing over how much I love holding this space for people and witnessing the powerful transformations they have in very short time.  He stopped me and pointed to my purpose statement and asked me to read it aloud, with my client’s name substituted in where appropriate.  “To open my heart, see my true self and help *Jennifer do the same.”  He said he would venture to guess that by the joy in my voice he could easily detect that I was in alignment with my purpose and could I see that this was true?  Yes, I could, and yet, I wanted to test it out… to try this with other people… catch them happy and see if they were in alignment.

Yesterday, I was scheduled to give a Foundation Session to *Benjamin and before we began, he told me a story about a recent success he had experienced.   He said something like, “I went to this meet and greet for fishing enthusiasts and I met all these amazing people.  One person in particular was wonderful and working on a project that I’m really interested in.  It was so perfect because of what my wife does for a living and because of my skills that I could easily contribute to at a relaxed pace, because they aren’t in any hurry and it also would allow me to fish!”  I congratulated him, honored him for getting out there and moved on… completely forgetting about my recent commitment to do sleuth work in searching out happiness to find it’s cause.   It wouldn’t have helped at that moment anyway, because I didn’t yet know what his values, talents, gifts and purpose were… that’s what the Foundation Session is for.

Fast forward 2 hours later and Benjamin and I had discovered that his Talents and gifts were 1) Seeing the big picture on projects, 2) having strong skills in his field of fishing and 3) working with people.  His Values in order were Balance, Relaxing, Good People, Collaboration and Fishing.  As I began to wrap up the call and explain the purpose behind why we had just taken all this time to root out these words and call them values, I explained that I would be looking to catch him in the act of living in alignment with them and I would be encouraging him to continue make choices that lead toward his values.  “The theory is…” I said, “that people are happiest when living in alignment with their values.” And that’s when the light bulb turned on and I said, “For example, take the story you told me earlier and see if we can relate it to these 5 words.”

Sure enough, they were everywhere:

“I went to this meet and greet (WORKING WITH PEOPLE) for fishing enthusiasts and I met all these amazing people.  One person in particular was wonderful (GOOD PEOPLE) and working on a project that I’m really interested in (SEEING THE BIG PICTURE & COLLABORATION).  It was so perfect because of what my wife does for a living (BALANCE) and because of my skills that I could easily contribute to it (WORKING WITH PEOPLE) at a relaxed pace, because they aren’t in any hurry and it also would allow me to fish!”

It was so obvious that the theory was true in this case that Benjamin instantly began laughing.  SUCCESS!!!  So, off I go to catch more people feeling happy and help them make the connection.

*name and details changed to protect identity

Leave a Reply

